Main Page  > About Smolensk region  > About the Smolensk Region

About the Smolensk Region
The region is a part of the Central Federal District of the Russian Federation.

The Smolensk Region (Oblast) in its modern form appeared on 27th September, 1937.

The Smolensk Governorate was created by Peter the Great’s order on 18th December, 1708 ( or 29th December following the modern calendar).

The Smolensk Region borders on five territorial entities of the Russian Federation: Pskov and Tver in the north, Moscow and Kaluga in the east and south-east, Bryansk in the south and two regions of the Republic of Belarus: Vitebsk - in the north-west and Mogilev – in the south-west.

Area – 49 779 km2.
Population – 975 188 people. (2013)
Regional centre – City of Smolensk 
Distance from Moscow – 365 km.

350 municipal entities were created in the region in 2006, they include:
- 2 cities;
- 25 municipal districts;
- 24 towns;
- 299 rural settlements.

The competitive edge of the Smolensk Region:

- an important transportation and communication hub;
- a border region;
- proximity to Moscow;
- developed industry;
- highly-qualified specialists;
- a network of institutions for professional education;
- developed transport and communication networks;
- a high level of energy supply;
- favourable factors of tourism development: recreational zones, cultural and historical heritage;
- legislation to ensure investment;
- readiness of regional authorities to create favourable investment conditions.