Main Page  > for investors  > Information about the labour activity of foreign citizens in the Russian Federation  > LEGAL STATUS OF FOREIGN CITIZENS IN THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION


LEGAL STATUS OF FOREIGN CITIZENS IN THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION
The Department of the Federal Migration Service in the Smolensk Region informs that a number of amendments were introduced into the procedure of proving the Russian language command, knowledge of Russian history and legislation for foreign citizens, in accordance with the Federal law of the Russian Federation №74-ФЗ issued on 20 April, 2014 “On amendments to the Federal law “On the legal status of foreign citizens in the Russian Federation”.

In accordance with the Federal law a foreign citizen applying for a permit for temporary residence, residence permit, work permit or patent should confirm his or her command of the Russian language, knowledge of Russian History and basics of the Russian legislation by one of the following documents:

1) certificate to prove the command of the Russian language, knowledge of Russian history and basics of the Russian legislation;

2) a state recognised document of education (not lower than the secondary level) issued by an educational institution of a foreign state which had been a part of the USSR before 1 September, 1991 ;

3) a document on education and/or qualification to prove that the holder successfully passed the final attestation in the territory of the Russia Federation.

Foreign citizens who received a work permit before 1 January, 2015 should present a document certifying their command of the Russian language, knowledge of Russian history and basics of the Russian legislation in case they submit an application to extend the validity period of the issued permit for residence or work .

The present amendments come in force from 1 January, 2015.

Moreover, the President of Russia signed the Federal law № 230-ФЗ “On amendments to the Federal law «On legal status of foreign citizens in the Russian Federation» on 21 July, 2014.

The law stipulates that foreign citizens who do not have to be given a visa for visiting Russia can receive a work permit or patent only if they indicate the «work» option as the purpose of their visit in their migration card.

In case foreign citizens fail to indicate the «work» option as the purpose of their visit in their migration card the law states this to be a substantial reason for refusal of a work permit or patent for foreign citizens who do not have to be given a visa for visiting Russia .

Article 2 of the Federal Law provides that the law comes in force from the date of its publication.

On 22 July, 2014 the Federal law was published on the official Internet portal of legal information pravo.gov.ru and therefore came in force.

Правовое положение иностранных граждан в Российской Федерации
Управление федеральной миграционной службы по Смоленской области информирует, что Федеральным законом Российской Федерации № 74-ФЗ от 20 апреля 2014 года «О внесении изменений в Федеральный закон «О правовом положении иностранных граждан в Российской Федерации» внесены изменения, касающиеся подтверждения иностранными гражданами владения русским языком, знания истории России и основ законодательства Российской Федерации.

В соответствии с Федеральным законом, иностранный гражданин при обращении за получением разрешения на временное проживание, вида на жительство, разрешения на работу либо патента обязан подтвердить владение русским языком, знание истории России и основ законодательства Российской Федерации одним из следующих документов:

1) сертификатом о владении русским языком, знании истории России и основ законодательства Российской Федерации;

2) документом государственного образца об образовании (на уровне не ниже основного общего образования), выданным образовательным учреждением на территории государства, входившего в состав СССР, до 1 сентября 1991 года;

3) документом об образовании и (или) о квалификации, выданным лицам, успешно прошедшим государственную итоговую аттестацию на территории Российской Федерации с 1 сентября 1991 года.


Также, иностранные граждане, которым вид на жительство или разрешение на работу были выданы до 1 января 2015 года, представляют документ, подтверждающий владение данными иностранными гражданами русским языком, знание ими истории России и основ законодательства Российской Федерации, при подаче заявления о продлении срока действия ранее выданного вида на жительство или разрешения на работу.

Указанные изменения вступают в силу с 1 января 2015 года.

Кроме того, 21 июля 2014 года Президентом Российской Федерации подписан Федеральный закон № 230-Ф3 «О внесении изменений в Федеральный закон «О правовом положении иностранных граждан в Российской Федерации».

В соответствии с Федеральным законом иностранные граждане, прибывшие в Российскую Федерацию в порядке, не требующем получения визы, смогут получить разрешение на работу или патент только при указании ими в миграционной карте «работы» как цели их визита в Российскую Федерацию.

Кроме того, устанавливается дополнительное основание для отказа в выдаче или продлении разрешения на работу, а также отказа в выдаче патента иностранному гражданину, въехавшему в Российскую Федерацию в порядке, не требующем получения визы, в случае, если данный иностранный гражданин при заполнении миграционной карты указал цель визита в Российскую Федерацию, не связанную с осуществлением трудовой деятельности.

Согласно ст. 2 указанный Федеральный закон вступает в силу со дня его опубликования.

22 июля 2014 года Федеральный закон опубликован на официальном Интернет портале правовой информации pravo.gov.ru и вступил в силу.